Inquirer: Jeff Carter is a Modern-Day Mike Schmidt

INSIDE THE FLYERS: TIME FOR FLYERS FANS TO APPRECIATE CARTER

…This is a REALLY interesting comparison, for a lot of reasons.  Anyone who has ever sat next to me during a Flyers game, or watched a game with me, knows that Carter is not one of my favorites.

What Carchidi likens to Carter “playing so effortlessly that sometimes fans think he’s lazy,” I actually DO liken to laziness.  Listen, there’s no doubting that Carter is one of the best players on this team right now, and arguably their best scoring threat, but until he proves to me he can be a clutch player (yes, I still haven’t forgiven him for not scoring on Niemi in Game 6 last year after the Flyers had tied the game late), I don’t want to compare him to Schmidt.  Mike Schmidt is arguably the greatest 3rd basemen in Major League History; Jeff Carter is simply a good winger.

Maybe the fact that both seem to be underappreciated by the fan base is a good argument, and I’ll admit it’s what intrigued me to read this article, but Carter is in no way, shape, or form comparable to Michael Jack.  He has no ring.

Leave a Reply

